2013-14 Board of Directors

The Zoological Society of Milwaukee Board of Directors consists of community leaders who volunteer their time and talent in governing the organization.

Members of the Zoological Society’s Board of Directors are elected for three years to manage the Society’s affairs. They:

  • Set policies that govern the Society
  • Plan and approve goals and budgets
  • Review and evaluate progress toward goals and budgets
  • Raise funds to meet budget obligations
  • Represent the Zoological Society to the community

Board Members accept committee assignments and participate in community activities, and assist in raising funds by:

  • Joining the Platypus Circle
  • Supporting the Annual Appeal
  • Attending and/or supporting Society fund-raising events
  • Participating in capital programs
  • Making contributions to the Zoological Society through other personal gifts
  • Joining the Simba Society


Gina Peter, Chair
Rich Tennessen, Immediate past chair
Mike Carter, Vice-chair, Treasurer
Caroline Krider, Vice-chair
Maria Gonzalez Knavel, Secretary


Robert (Bert) Davis, DVM+
Thom Brown
Nate Cunniff
Joe Frohna*
Tami Scully Garrison
Michael Grebe, Jr.
John Grunau
Katherine Hust
Karen Peck Katz
Joe Kresl
James Kuehn
T.J. Marini
Quinn Martin
Jack McKeithan
Jay McKenna
Kat Morrow
Joan Prince, Ph.D.
Scott Redlinger
Harold Redman
Lacey Sadoff
Barry Sattell
Kim Schaffer
Rick Schmidt
Ryan Schultz
Thelma Sias
Billie Jean Smith
Roger Smith
Jon Sohn
Judy Holz Stathas
David Strelitz
Michael Stull
Tyler Vassar
Gregory Wesley
Jane Wierzba
Raymond Wilson

+ President/CEO of the Zoological Society
* Associate Board President

Connect With Us On
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook